Wrap-Up | May 2016

I haven’t done a monthly wrap-up on my blog since July 2015, which is crazy! I almost always post wrap-ups on Instagram, but I’ve clearly been neglecting my blog, which needs to change! So, from now on, monthly wrap-ups will be posted here! No excuses!

This month I read a total of 8 books, which I am pretty happy with. I’ve been in a huge book slump for the majority of 2016, but it finally went away in the middle of May and I was able to read 7 books in about 12 days. Let’s hope I can keep that up for the rest of the year!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (4 stars)
I’m not going to go into much detail, since this is the last book in the series and I don’t want to spoil anything for those who haven’t read it yet, but I was pretty happy with this conclusion. I didn’t absolutely love it, like I loved the rest of the books in the series, but I did like it. The end is what made me take off 1 star from my rating. It left me with a ton of questions which is not how I like to feel at the end of a series. I want all of my questions to be answered and turn the last page feeling satisfied. I feel like I didn’t get much closure because a lot of questions were left unanswered. But I did enjoy this book, and this will always be one of my favorite series of all time. If you haven’t read it yet, I would highly recommend that you do so.

515p3OrN1KL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_2. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (5 stars)
(Not my picture – this was taken from Amazon)
This book follows 2 sisters, Vianne and Isabelle, in France during WWII. Vianne is left alone with her young daughter when her husband leaves to fight in the war. When the Germans invade her small town, she is forced to bring one of the enemy into her home, causing their every move to be watched, and putting her and her daughter’s lives at constant risk. Isabelle is a rebellious teenager who will do whatever she can to fight the enemy, even if it puts her own life in danger. This is one of the most heartbreaking and beautifully written stories I have ever read. I have never cried so hard while reading a book. This is definitely a story that has touched me deeply and will stay with me a long time. If you are a fan of The Book Thief, I think you would really enjoy this book.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset3. What She Left Behind by Ellen Marie Wiseman (5 stars)
This book follows 2 different women living in 2 different time periods. Clara is a teenager in the 1920s who is forced into an insane assylum after an argument with her father. Izzy is a teenager in 1995 who comes across Clara’s belongings, including her journal, and becomes interested in her story and learning what exactly happened to her. I’m not going to go into too much detail because I’ve already written a full review over this book. You can read that here if you want. But I absolutely loved this book. I hadn’t even heard of it before I started reading it, but I’m so glad I did because it was amazing and I honestly believe this is the book that got me out of my reading slump. I would definitely recommend it.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset4. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma (4 stars)
This was a tough one for me to rate. Throughout the majority of the book I was pretty convinced I would be giving it a 3 star rating. However, the end is what bumped it up to 4 stars. The end is absolutely heartbreaking, but I loved it.
I have never felt so uncomfortable while reading a book. I applaud those who have enough of an open mind to empathize with these characters and their situation, but it was a little out of my comfort zone. The topic of incest is rarely seen in YA books (and just fiction books period) so I also applaud the author’s boldness for writing about something that most view as disgusting and wrong. That takes guts. If you want to know more of my thoughts over this book you can read my full review here.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset5. With Malice by Eileen Cook (4 stars)
With Malice is a YA thriller about a girl named Jill who wakes up in the hospital to discover that she’s been in a terrible car accident. An accident that left her best friend, Simone, dead. And on top of that, they are saying that this “accident” was actually a murder, and Jill is the main suspect. The problem is, Jill has no memory of the past 6 weeks. So what happened? Was it actually a murder, and if so, is Jill the killer? Or was it just an accident?
I really enjoyed this book. I love thrillers because they keep me turning the page wanting to know what happens next. And that’s exactly what this book did. I had no idea what happened, if it was a murder, who the murderer was, or if it was just an unfortunate accident. But I was dying to know and by the last 1/4 of the book I was frantically turning each page in hopes of getting some answers! Read my full review here.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset6. The Cresswell Plot by Eliza Wass (3 stars)
This book was weird. Really weird. In fact, I’m pretty sure this is the strangest/creepiest book I have ever read. And I don’t mean creepy in a “monster under the bed” kind of way. But creepy in a “there are seriously people in the world who think this way?” and “wow these people are brainwashed” kind of way. There were a couple of times I literally got shivers while reading this. I’m not sure this is a book for everyone, but if you like weird/creepy books, you might enjoy it.

FullSizeRender-97. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie (4 stars)
This was my second Agatha Christie novel (the first was And Then There Were None which was amazing) and it did not disappoint! I did guess who the murderer was which was a little disappointing and this is why I rated this book 4 stars instead of 5. But it was still an amazing mystery novel and I loved trying to put all of the pieces together to guess who did it. If you haven’t read an Agatha Christie novel yet, I would highly recommend it! She is the queen of mystery!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset8. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis (5 stars)
This was my favorite book of the month and quite possibly my favorite book of the entire year so far. It was so good. Seriously guys, you need to read this! It doesn’t come out until September 20th, but I’m telling you, preorder it now because IT IS AMAZING! I’ve never read anything by Mindy McGinnis, but now that I have, I want to read everything she’s ever written and anything else she will write in the future. THIS WAS JUST SO GOOD!

I would say this was a pretty good reading month. Hoping for an even better month in June!

4 thoughts on “Wrap-Up | May 2016

Leave a Reply

