When We Collided by Emery Lord

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Published by: Bloomsbury
Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Mental Illness
Pages: 352
Buy it: Amazon

This isn’t your typical YA contemporary romance. This is a book about mental illness. And I love that the author chose to write about that because I think it’s something that is so misunderstood, and most people are highly uneducated about it. Writing about it is a great step towards bringing attention to a topic that I believe needs to be talked about more often. This is what initially drew me towards the book in the first place.

When We Collided is a YA Contemporary about a girl named Vivi who is living with a mental disorder (I won’t say what because it’s more fun to find out on your own!), and a boy named Jonah who is grieving over the death of his father. Both have their own pasts they are trying to recover from.

I had a really difficult time deciding what to rate this book. I liked it, but I also had quite a few problems with it.

First of all, the relationship between Vivi and Jonah just didn’t do it for me. There was no real connection at all. I feel like this would have been a much better story had the romance been excluded. They met and almost instantly fell for each other. And I understand that this may be somewhat realistic due to Vivi’s impulsive personality stemming from her mental disorder, but I still didn’t feel a connection between them. I also found Vivi extremely unlikable, and again, this could be due to her mental disorder, but she was also selfish, immature, and honestly just annoying and these are all traits I think were unrelated to the disorder, and just the type of person she was underneath it all. .

On the other hand, I loved Jonah. I loved his family, all 5 of his siblings, and even his mom who is so distressed due the loss of her husband that she can barely get out of bed most days. I loved how all 5 of Jonah’s siblings had such strong, distinct personalities and I wish we could have gotten to know them better. I loved how much Jonah cared about his family and how hard he tried to be strong for them even when he was hurting so much on the inside.

I loved that we got to see two sides of mental illness – we got to see someone living with it first-hand (Vivi), while also seeing someone living with it second-hand (Jonah caring for his mother who is struggling with depression).

I also really loved the writing style. I thought it was so beautiful and poetic. I will definitely be reading more Emery Lord books in the future!

Overall, I think there are a lot of people out there who would really enjoy this book. If you’re a fan of YA contemporaries, I’d definitely give this a try!

*This was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Bloomsbury!

Overall Rating:

3.5stars

Leave a Reply

