July 2015 Wrap-Up

I haven’t done a monthly wrap-up since February! Oops!

July was an okay reading month for me. Not the worst, but not the best either. I read a total of 5 books and I am half-way through a 6th, all of which I really enjoyed.

1. Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (5 stars)
This was a re-read for me. I’ve already read the first 2 books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, but I wanted to refresh my memory so I can continue on with books 3-5. I don’t think I need to write a synopsis over this book. It’s incredibly popular, so most people already know what it’s about! The only thing I’m going to say is, if you’re considering reading this book but are hesitant because you find it intimidating – give it a try! It’s actually a lot easier to get through than you would think. The most difficult part is keeping up with all of the characters, but the Appendix in the back of the book definitely helps with that!

2. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han (3 stars)
This was a cute, summery contemporary! It’s about a girl named Belly who spends her summers at a beach house with her mom, brother, and her mom’s best friend and her two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Belly has always had a crush on Conrad, but he’s never thought of her as more than a friend. However, this summer, Belly is all grown up so feelings and emotions and friendships change. I think I would have liked this book a lot more if I was a few years younger. All of the main characters were quite a bit younger than me, and normally that doesn’t bother me, but this time it did. Belly was really childish and the love interests just didn’t do it for me. It was still really cute and I would definitely recommend it to younger readers (13-18sh)!

3. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta (4.5 stars)
This book has been on my TBR for a LONG time, and I finally decided to pick it up this month! 10 years ago, the kingdom of Lumatere was destroyed when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom was put under a terrible curse, trapping those left inside, and not allowing anyone else to enter. Now, Finnikin meets a girl named Evanjalin who claims that the heir, Prince Balthazar, is alive, and she knows where to find him. This book is SAD. It’s about a land and people who had everything ripped away from them and were left with nothing. Ten years later, there’s hardly any hope left at all. It’s very slow paced, but it works. I was never bored with the story. I would highly recommend this book to those who love fantasy!

4. The Counting-Downers by A.J. Compton (3 stars) 
The Counting-Downers is about a world where everyone knows when everyone is going to die. Except for yourself. There’s a digital clock above your head ticking down until the exact moment of your death. You can see everyone else’s clock, and they can see yours. You just can’t see your own. I really liked this book. The writing style is amazing. The author is truly talented. It’s full of quotes about life, death, time, etc. almost to a point that it becomes too much. Too cliche. It almost felt like I was reading an essay about life or time, rather than a fictional story. Overall, I really did enjoy this book. I just had some slight issues with it. I think a lot of people would REALLY enjoy it, so I would definitely recommend it to everyone. Especially if you like books that discuss issues such as time, life, death, grief, etc.

5. The Archived by Victoria Schwab (5 stars)
This was by-far my favorite book of the month. It was SO GOOD. I read Victoria Schwab’s other book, Vicious, earlier this year and it is probably my favorite book of the entire year so far. Not only is her writing style amazing, but the stories she creates are incredibly unique and imaginative. The story sucks you in and makes it near impossible to put the book down. The Archived is about a girl named MacKenzie, who inherits the role of Keeper, when her grandfather passes away. Keepers are required to stop Histories (basically, ghosts) who have escaped, and return them to the Archive where they are stored, almost like books. It’s so much more complex than that, but I don’t want to give too much away. If you haven’t read this book yet, please do! Highly, highly recommend it!

I’m also currently half way through The Unbound, which is the sequel to The Archived,and it is equally amazing!

2 thoughts on “July 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Ayunda says:

    Game of thrones is an amazing series! But the first book would probably be my favourite so far… I’ve only read it once though, thinking of rereading it soon too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

