Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
Published by: Simon & Schuster
Genre(s): YA, Contemporary
Pages: 343
Buy it:  Amazon

“’Tomorrow will be better.’
‘But what if it’s not?’ I asked.
‘Then you say it again tomorrow. Because it might be. You never know, right? At some point, tomorrow will be better.’”

Wow! I was pleasantly surprised by this book! I knew it was going to be fun and fast-paced and summery, but I had no idea how deep/emotional it would be as well.

Synopsis: Amy’s father died in a tragic accident, and her mother is making her move across the country, from California to Connecticut, to start fresh. The only problem is that, since the accident, Amy refuses to drive. So, a childhood friend she barely remembers, named Roger, comes to the rescue and agrees to drive her all the way there. However, Amy’s mom left her the most boring route possible, so they decide to make a few slight changes and make the trip a lot more fun. Thus begins Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour.

Things I liked: I loved the layout of this book. It’s packed full of pictures from their road trip, receipts, playlists that they make, etc. which adds so much to the story. It makes you feel like you’re actually on this trip with them. I loved how detailed everything was. I’m from the South, so when they got to Kansas it was so much fun to hear them talk about Sonic and Freddy’s Frozen Custard. It was also fun to hear about restaurants/attractions and fun facts from other places in the US that I’ve never been to, but would love to visit someday.

I loved how this wasn’t just a love story. It was so much more than that. It wasn’t even mostly about a road trip. It was about a girl overcoming the grief she was experiencing from the death of her father, and a boy dealing with a relationship that was coming to an end. Both Roger and Amy’s character development in this book is phenomenal.

Things I didn’t like:: Almost nothing. This book was amazing and I flew through it. The ONE thing I didn’t like in this book was Amy’s mom. I wish she had been more understanding and supportive of Amy instead of so distant and unsympathetic. I know she was dealing with her own grief, from losing her husband, but I just feel like it could have been dealt with better. I also wish we could have heard their conversation at the end to see if everything was actually resolved.

Overall, this was such a fun book to read and it was perfect for the summer months! Highly recommended!

Overall Rating:
four-and-a-half-star-rating

5 thoughts on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. literaryitsathena says:

    Morgan Matson is slowly climbing her way to my top contemporary writers. I’ve read SYBG and Second Chance Summer, so I have yet to read this one. I’m happy to hear that it isn’t all about the romance, I hate seeing that nowadays. I feel like so many authors base it all on romance, but in real life there’s other things we deal with!

    Like

  2. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    This was my first Morgan Matson read and I enjoyed it so much! I regret getting the ebook because I agree with you the details,receipts, playlists etc… are awesome 🙂 I’m planning on buying the physical copy soon 🙂 Fantastic Review!

    Liked by 1 person

      • AdoptaBookAUS says:

        I’m so impatient and have no self control when it comes to some books especially when I want to read the book that very second! haha. I think I’ll buy the physical copy in time for summer so I can enjoy a re-read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

