February 2015 Wrap-Up

February turned out to be a decent reading month for me. I didn’t get through as many books as I was hoping, but I blame that on being super busy and the fact that February is a short month. I ended up reading a total of 6 books, and getting through about 1/2 of a 7th book.

FullSizeRender-4

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset1. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (4.5 stars)
really enjoyed this book. I think my favorite part of the entire book was the world. It’s so interesting and complex and fun. Basically, this book is about a world that is split into 8 different kingdoms. There are 4 kingdoms of eternal season (Winter, Summer, Spring, and Autumn), and 4 kingdoms that cycle between the 4 seasons (like normal, in our world). I did find most of the plot twists to be pretty predictable, which is why I ended up taking off 1/2 a star, but I still had a ton of fun reading this book and would highly recommend it! I actually wrote an entire review over this book, so if you want to know more of my thoughts, you can read my review here.

2. Wait for You by J. Lynn (3.5 stars)FullSizeRender-4 copy
This book was a lot of fun. I haven’t read many New Adult books, but the small amount I have read, for some reason, seem to always center around one of the love interests cheating on their significant other. This drives me crazy because I absolutely hate cheating and I think that a lot of books glorify it and make it seem like an acceptable decision when it’s not. However, this book did not have any cheating in it so that was really refreshing to me. It follows our two main characters, Avery and Cam, after they literally run into each other at the college they are both attending. Avery is a freshman who has moved halfway across the country to escape her mysterious past. Cam is a junior from a small town a few hours away from the college. The book follows them and their friendship while it slowly develops into more, while also slowly revealing bits and pieces of both Cam and Avery’s pasts (both are hiding secrets that they’re desperately trying to escape). It was really enjoyable overall, and Cam is definitely one of the best male characters I have ever come across. Swoon-worthy for sure!

FullSizeRender-93. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins (4 stars)
I had already read Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins and really enjoyed the writing style, so I figured I would enjoy this book as well, and I was right! This book follows Harper Price, who is your typical southern bell (homecoming queen, president of basically every club at her high school, etc), after she has a very strange encounter at a school dance. She ends up becoming a Paladin, which is basically a guardian who is required to protect a certain person. This person ends up being her one and only enemy, and the story goes from there. Overall, I found it to be a super fun, fast-paced read, and I’m definitely excited for the 2nd book, Miss Mayhem, to be released later this year!

4. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling (5 stars)FullSizeRender-7
This was a re-read. I have read the first 5 Harry Potter books multiple times. However, this was only my second time to re-read this one. The first time I read it was right before HP and the Deathly Hallows came out, which was a while ago, so I had definitely forgotten a lot of details from this book. One of my favorite things about this book is getting to learn about Voldemort’s past. It’s so fascinating and it blows my mind how detailed and complex everything is. J.K. Rowling is a genius.

FullSizeRender-55. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (2.5 stars)
I’m not going to lie. This book was a complete cover-buy for me. This cover is absolutely beautiful and it drew me in. However, I was definitely disappointed in the content. I was expecting something a lot sci-fi, and a little romance, and got the complete opposite. The concept of this book is so interesting. It’s about a girl named Marguerite. Her parent’s are physicist’s who invent something called a Firebird, which allows you to travel to alternate universes. Basically, every decision that we make (or don’t make) leads us to live in the world we live in currently. For example, let’s say you made the decision to go to a college in the same city you grew up in (this is the world now, as you know it), however, there is an alternate universe out there with you attending a college that you decided against, halfway across the country, and everything in that world is different but has some slight similarities. I was hoping that this book would focus more on the sci-fi aspect since it’s so interesting and complex, but it didn’t do that at all. It focused mainly on the romance which just didn’t interest me. If you’re going to read this, I would highly suggest going into it expecting it to be mostly a love story.

6. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover (5 stars)FullSizeRender-8
This was BY FAR my favorite read of my month. Oh my gosh, this was SO GOOD. I’ve read Maybe Someday and Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, but this was my favorite book of hers that I have read so far. I honestly don’t even think I can adequately express my love for this book. I loved it so much! Books almost never make me cry (nope, not even TFIOS), but this one definitely did. It is so heart-wrenching and beautiful and emotional. I finished this a week ago and still can’t stop thinking about it. If you like New Adult books, please read this. You won’t be disappointed.

I am also currently about 1/2 way through Outlander by Diana Gabaldon and I am really enjoying it, but it is a massive book so it’s taking me a bit longer than normal to get through!

One thought on “February 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Mariah says:

    LOVED Snow Like Ashes. I was completely oblivious to all the plot twists so it was five stars for me. But I could see why when you really think about it. I’m glad you liked Ugly Love, I’m starting that after I finish what I’m reading now 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

